Through awareness of the breath and attention to proper alignment within our consistent practice, our bodies will begin to safely open hence an internal shift gracefully takes over in quieting our minds. These combined groups of asanas energetically work to open the different chakras points within our body allowing personal break-throughs to naturally take place.

The Atmananda Yoga Sequence is the body of knowledge, experienced through Hatha Yoga, and Ashtanga Yoga, combined to create a Vinyasa flow. The sequence is composed of the seven groups of asanas, including:

  • Standing Poses
  • Balancing Poses
  • Forward Bends
  • Backbends
  • Inversions
  • Spinal Twists
  • Seated Poses

Asanas Relationship to the Chakras

The Atmananda Sequence is designed to completely open the body. Each pose has a relationship to a chakra energy center. A chakra is a vital energy center that resides in our bodies, that is not detectable by modern medical means. A chakra operates like a ball of energy interpenetrating the physical body. They are aspects of consciousness, and they interact with the physical and energetic body though two major vehicles, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Ideally, all seven of your chakras are balanced and open allowing energy to flow into and out of your body.